fresh like a grapefruit

Well, here it is. A new blog. Full of hopes and dreams and all the possibilities in the world. Nope, that’s not it.  I was bored. I had toyed with the idea of starting a new blog (on a new platform) for quite some time, perhaps since I started 435 Naked Sundays.  I wanted to start something new and fresh and I wanted this blog to have a little more of a backbone than the other one did.  I am planning to have this one on a semi-strict schedule complete with Tasty Tuesdays and Fashion Forward Fridays or some other nonsense like that.  Don’t get me wrong, Tumblr was a great first blog to get started on but I felt like it was a little limiting at times. I’ve heard only great things about WordPress so I thought why not. Why not try something new? If something goes terribly wrong I could just delete it. (I don’t plan on that happening.)

I’d love to have this blog incorporate everything I love but it might be too much. I will try to incorporate the following: 

    • men’s fashion
    • food
    • women’s fashion
    • interiors
    • daily thoughts (of course)

I suppose I should throw out why I named my new blog “cigars + stilettos.”  Let me preface by saying I was laying in bed last night reading my latest book Why We Make Mistakes where the first “s” in mistakes is wildly backwards and this new title just came to me. How perfect, right? Has just the amount of classiness and fun that I needed in this title, to really portray who I am and how I perceive things. I don’t know exactly how to describe stilettos and how classy and elegant and great they make you look besides stating the obvious.  One thing I will say is, I don’t care who you are or how many days a week you wear stilettos, if you have been wearing them for more than six hours, your feet do hurt.

So, cigars.  As far back as I can remember, my father smoked cigars.  Fat ones, little ones, long ones.  When I was old enough to close my hand, my dad would have me cut his cigars. I became a pro rather quickly, no more tearing of the tobacco. I believe my fine motor skills developed quicker than normal because of this little task. Anywho, cigars. In my opinion there is nothing better than sitting outside having a great conversation as you smoke a cigar. (Maybe not me personally, I’ll just take a teensy puff every other summer or so).

So here’s my newest blog, newest post.

Leave a Reply

