i will not

I will not try and pretend that this is going to be easy. Probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever wanted to write. I will not go into detail about every memory I’ve ever made. I will not try and describe how utterly heartbroken I am going to be as I finally make my drive from this campus as a UConn graduate.  I will not pretend that I won’t undoubtedly have my favorite memories of this university running through my head as if being played on a projector at all times.

I will not tell you I have regrets. I will not tell you I regret not trying out for club volleyball or joining the equestrian team. I will not say I regret not saying everything I wanted to say through endless amounts of tears that one late night in my car. I will not tell you that I regret not being an art major.

I will not try to describe how violently I want to shake incoming freshmen as I yell “CHERISH EVERY MOMENT” into their young panic stricken faces. I will not be able to get it through to them that these four years really are the absolute best. Can anyone? Can anyone understand how lucky we are without going through it themselves?

I will not give anything for the amount of gas I used to drive to the market for a meaningless grapefruit just to have memorable conversations.

I will not try and tell you how much I loved sitting in the study lounges on the bottom floor of Hanks hoping to run into my newest friends. I will not tell you how much it means to me that I am still close with the majority of them. I will not try to make you understand how much I looked forward to “roomie time” during my sophomore year. I will not tell you that some of my favorite memories involve getting lost around Connecticut. I will not try to explain how much it’s going to kill me daily that I won’t run into everyone I’ve grown up with for the past four years.

I will not even begin to tell you how indescribably sad I am to leave the friends I’ve made this past semester alone. I will not try and make you understand how I could not be happier, more ecstatic, or unbelievably proud of the friends I’ve made here at this university.

I will not try to make you understand how proud and honored I am to be a husky.

Leave a Reply

