to be a twenty-something

What is it like to be a twenty something year old? Normal twenty-something-year-olds believe it or not are just a tad different than twenty-something-year-olds thought to be known by sites such as #thoughtcatalog and #buzzfeed and #whateverelseihadtounfollow. We’re not (always) these young adults fighting to figure out what we want out of life. It’s not so glamorous (unless you’ve seen my instagrams) and believe it or not, it’s really not that hard. Try and think of a better time you’ll have in your life…except for college.. RIP college. You are on your own (unless you’re still drinking from the bottle Mommy and Daddy are providing) ((I get it, you’re saving money)) and you ONLY HAVE TO worry about yourself.

As a twenty-something, dinner consists of pizza or some other fast food/cafe/coffee shop food that we frequent many times a week. Breakfast looks more like four large coffees and lunch** is about as existent as my love life. Considering I’m at work six or seven days out of the week, dinner usually consists of 1/2 a caesar salad, no fish, light dressing and our chicken dumpling soup. We eat pizza about three or four times a week. There’s this holy grail of pizzas, the steak and mushroom pizza we call it, that would change the beliefs of some of the world’s most strict vegetarians.

As a twenty-something, laundry doesn’t happen as much as I’d like. Lucky for me, there is a free washer and dryer in the basement my apartment. Even luckier for me, there is also a free washer and dryer in the basement of my parent’s house that doesn’t resemble a scene straight from the exorcist. (+1: Harry is at Mom and Dad’s).

As a twenty-something, I threw myself into my job which happens to be a lot easier when you love it. I’m not really just talking “love,” I’m more on the grounds of someone that resembles a stage five, someone who might be one step away from a restraining order. This is what we do as a twenty-something; we find something we love and we take off.

As a twenty-something, we drink. And we drink a lot. Crashing on a friend’s couch is more prominent than we’d like, but it’s part of that “carefree vibe” we’re trying to give off. Who needs a membership to the MoMA to see the new art deco exhibit when you can take a look at my pillow case after a night out?

As a twenty-something, I have more open bottles of wine in my apartment than I’d like to admit. Let me paint you a teeny picture: I’d get home from work around 10:30 (this was in the midst of my Breaking Bad days), crack said bottle of wine, watch one and three quarters of an episode, and doze off with every light on and my glass a third full. Small victory: haven’t spilled one yet.

As a twenty-something, we are too lazy to get up and get important things like chocolate.

As a twenty-something, I have tried and failed too many DIY art projects. cc: DIY coasters, DIY scrapbook paper heart, DIY United States mural.

As a twenty-something, I buy things for my apartment that aren’t *exactly* what I should be spending my money on. “But it’s vintage” and “but it was only $19” and “but I saw it on Pinterest!” are all, what I consider, valid reasons. I have a beautiful vintage wooden ironing board underneath the windows in my dining room which in theory is supposed to be the home to many succulent succulents planted in many multicolored vases, but as of now, there are three geometric (vintage) vases each with a dead white hydrangea.

As a twenty-something, I am proud of myself. Proud of my career path, proud of what I’ve accomplished, proud of what will happen in twenty fourteen.

As a twenty-something, I eat too much cheese.

**lunch will be eaten if Dad takes me out.

Leave a Reply

